wheel of time fantasy series

The wheel of time is an epic fantasy wriiten by Robert Jordan, an American literate whose actual name was James Oliver Rigney, Jr. It was supposed to be a three book series like the 'Lord of the Rings', but the author found he had more to tell than what he intended. therefore the number of books increased from three to six, then nine, and finally he had written thirteen books in the series when he died in 2007. From his vast amount of notes and details about his plan and storyline his friend and fan of the 'Wheels of time' series, Mr Brandon Sanderson decided to complete the series for him. What he thought could fit him in just another book, actually took him three more books. The final book is slated to be released in 2012, thereby making it a 16 book-series.

The first book in the series was completed in 1984. It was named the Eye of the World. But it was published late in 1990 only. The following are the books in the series.

1. The Eye of the World 2. The Great Hunt
3. The Dragon Reborn
4. The Shadow Rising
5. The Fires of Heaven
6. Lord of Chaos
7. A Crown of Swords
8. The Path of Daggers
9. Winter's Heart
10. Crossroads of Twilight
11. Knife of Dreams
12. The Gathering Storm
13. Towers of Midnight
14. A Memory of Light
There is also a prequel to the series named, New Spring.

The books have been listed as best-sellers in many countries. It has made over 44 million copies worldwide. It has been adapted into TV series and videogames, and now the news is that the Universal Studios have bought the rights to make a fantasy film series out of it.

In the MovieLand ,with the end of the Harry Potter series this July, the world has been looking out for a new fantasical series, that could be similarly successful. Not much is known about who will helm the captain's role and neither have been the cast and crew been decided. With good production values a book of this sort can become a magic wand at the movie box office.


Popular posts from this blog

Avengers final trailer turns the tables in Avengers favor

Padmaavat Review

10 years to the magnum Opus 'Devdas'